Civil Service Commission


The commission administers the civil service procedure as contained in Chapter 400, Code of Iowa, and Amendments thereto and shall have, exercise and perform all powers and duties as provided thereby. 


  • On call


The commission consists of 3 members that serve 4-year terms appointed by the Mayor with City Council approval. State of Iowa Code states terms begin on April 1, unless filling a vacancy. 



Name Term Begin Date Term End Date

Stephen Stark

April 1, 2022 March 30, 2026

Elizabeth Miller

February 1, 2022 March 30, 2023

Jason Trotter

April 1, 2019 March 30, 2023